simplebooklet thumbnail

of 0

The Articles of Confederation 


The Constitution

The Articles of Confederation only had one branch of government, The legislative branch, their government didn’t include a judicial or executive branch. The legislative branch only had a few powers, and basically didn’t do much, and there wasn’t a judicial system nor did they elect or have a President.

The Constitution has 3 branches of government. The Executive, Judicial and Legislative are the three branches that make up our government.  Executive; which is made up of the President, who keeps everything in line and runs the country. Legislative, this branch makes the laws and enforces them. Judicial; made up of judges who decide if the laws follow the Constitution or if they violate it, and apply the laws to court cases.  


In both types of government, every state is represented when it comes to voting for things like new laws, or a new President, but both documents had a different way of representing these states.

Both documents gave each government certain powers to help with running the country. The types of powers that were given to the states and the country were very different coming from both documents.




Legislative: people who have the power to make and change laws


Executive: a person who has supreme power over a government


Judicial: a group of people making judgements in a court


Bicameral: two houses


Unicameral: one house


Congress: the body of the US


Senator: a member of senate (a group of people who have a higher say in the government)

Representative: a person who represents each state